Wimbledon Fast Facts | CNN


Here’s a look at the Wimbledon tennis championships.

June 27 – July 10, 2022 – Wimbledon takes place in London.

June 28 – July 11, 2021 – The Wimbledon Championships take place.

Novak Djokovic defeated Nick Kyrgios 4-6, 6-3, 6-4, 6-6 (7-3) in the men’s final to win his fourth straight Wimbledon singles title and his 21st Grand Slam title overall .

Elena Rybakina defeated Ons Jabeur 3-6, 6-2, 6-2 in the women’s final to win her first Wimbledon title.

LONDON, ENGLAND - JULY 09: Elena Rybakina of Kazakhstan kisses the trophy after beating Ons Jabeur of Tunisia during Women's Singles Final on Day 13 of The Championships Wimbledon 2022 at The All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club on July 09 2022 London, UK.  (Photo by Clive Brunskill/Getty Images)

Wimbledon is one of four Grand Slam tennis tournaments. The others are the Australian Open, the French Open and the US Open.

Wimbledon takes place at the All England Lawn Tennis Club in London.

Wimbledon is the only Grand Slam event still played on grass.

Most individual wins (male) – Roger Federer at eight.

Most individual wins (women) – Martina Navratilova at nine.

Oldest Winner (Male) – Federer won the men’s singles title in 2017 at the age of 35 years and 342 days.

Oldest Winner (Female) – Navratilova won mixed doubles in 2003 at the age of 46 years and 261 days.

Youngest Winner (Male) – Boris Becker won the men’s singles title in 1985 at the age of 17 years and 228 days.

Youngest Winner (Female) – Martina Hingis won the women’s doubles championship in 1996 at the age of 15 years and 282 days.

Longest tennis match ever played (any tournament) – At the 2010 tournament, John Isner defeated Nicolas Mahut in a match that lasted 11 hours and five minutes over three days. The last set lasted 138 games (at that time in Wimbledon there were no tiebreakers in the 5th set and a player had to win by two games). The final score: 6-4, 3-6, 6-7(7), 7-6(3), 70-68.

1868 – The All England Croquet Club is formed. The site is on Worple Road in the London suburb of Wimbledon.

1877 – The name is changed to the All England Croquet and Lawn Tennis Club and the first Lawn Tennis Championship is held.

1882 – “Croquet” is dropped from the club’s moniker as the sport loses popularity. It was restored in 1899.

1915-1918 – Wimbledon is suspended during the First World War.

1922 – The Championships are moving to Church Road, Wimbledon’s current location.

1940-1945 – Wimbledon is suspended during World War II.

October 1940 – During World War II, a bomb hits Center Court, causing the loss of 1,200 seats at the stadium.

2007 – For the first time, female winners will receive the same cash prizes as male winners.

May 17, 2009 – The retractable roof over Center Court will be unveiled during an exhibition match.

October 2018 – The All England Lawn Tennis & Croquet Club (AELTC) committee is introducing a last set tie-break rule that begins when the players are tied at 12-12 in the fifth set [third set for women].

July 2019 AELTC implements the new Final Set Tiebreak rule and will be used for the first time during the Men’s Championship Finals.

April 1, 2020 – It is announced that this year’s Wimbledon has been canceled due to the coronavirus outbreak.

April 27, 2021 – AELTC announces that from 2022 the Championships will become a 14-day tournament with matches played on mid-Sunday. Middle Sunday is traditionally a day off at the Wimbledon Championships.

April 20, 2022 – Wimbledon organizers announce that Russian and Belarusian players will be banned from this year’s Grand Slam following Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.

11/17/2022 – Wimbledon organizers announce they will relax their all-white dress code, allowing players to wear dark underpants if they so choose.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *