Did you know someone could be using your iPhone to track your precise location without your knowledge or permission? Fortunately, Apple now offers a feature called Safety Check that allows us to detect and stop these unauthorized trackers.
What’s great about this new tool is that it automatically detects what you’ve shared, like your location or photos, and with whom and how you can turn off access and information instantly.
It’s a game changer when it comes to your safety. It can mean the difference between life and death, especially when someone is in a situation of domestic violence.
What is security check?
You must have updated your iPhone to the latest iOS 16 software before you can see the new Security Check feature. It was developed by Apple for users who feel their personal safety is at risk, be it a case of stalking, harassment, or those at risk of domestic violence or similar situations.
SEND A FUNNY MESSAGE WITH THESE IPHONE HACKS
When Security Check is turned on, users can choose who they share their information with, restrict messages and FaceTime to their iPhone, reset system privacy permissions for apps, change passwords, change their Apple ID password, and more.
Where can I find the security check on my iPhone?
Which apps use the security check if it’s enabled?
The following apps stop sharing information with people you’ve restricted once Security Check is turned on:
- At home
- Shared Calendars
- Shared location with “Where is?”
- Shared Notes
- Shared photos (including shared library and shared albums)
HOW TO FIND YOUR LOST IPHONE
What information will no longer be shared with Safety Check when activated?
When Security Check is enabled, all data collected by the following apps, networks, and features will be removed:
- data and folders
- local network
- location services
- Media and Apple Music
- Exercise & Fitness
- voice recognition
APPLE, GOOGLE, AMAZON AND FACEBOOK WILL ALWAYS LISTEN UNLESS YOU CHANGE THESE SETTINGS
What features are available in Safety Check?
Safety Check has three main functions.
1. Emergency reset
The first feature to look at in Safety Check is emergency reset. This is available for anyone who wants to instantly reset access for all people and apps, as well as review and reset all settings associated with your Apple ID.
- Your location will no longer be shared in Find My
- Your privacy permissions for all apps will be reset
- Messages and FaceTime are limited to your iPhone only
DO YOU HAVE AN IPHONE? DON’T WAIT ANOTHER SECOND TO UPDATE CRITICAL PRIVACY SETTINGS
2. Manage sharing and access
If you want to restrict sharing only to certain people, you can chooseManage sharing and access.This allows you to customize which people and apps can access your information.
CLICK HERE TO RECEIVE KURTS CYBERGUY NEWSLETTER FULL OF QUICK TIPS, TECHNICAL REVIEWS, SAFETY WARNINGS AND EASY HOW-TOS THAT WILL MAKE YOU SMARTER
3. Fast exit
Finally, in case you need to quickly hide the information you’re setting up in your Safety Check app, all you have to do is tap the “Quick Exit” button and it saves any changes you’ve made and instantly takes you back to the Safety Check home page . Nobody will be able to access your changes made in the meantime, essentially covering your tracks.
CLICK HERE TO GET THE FOX NEWS APP
Once you click Manage Sharing & Access, you’ll be taken to lists of your contacts, apps, and other devices (Mac laptops, iPads, etc.) and then choose who and what to share your details with. All your actions are saved and you can always come back to the security check and change your work later.
For more of my Apple tips, visit CyberGuy.com, search “Apple” and subscribe to my free newsletter.